Chakras and the Exaltation Points of the Planets

Mala Mantra Package

Your Information Source for Chakras

Get Instant Access

This relationship between the signs and the chakras also helps explain the exaltation of the planets.





Leo, Cancer

1. Sun, Moon



Virgo, Gemini

2. Mercury



Libra, Taurus

3. Venus


Saturn, Moon

Scorpio, Aries

4. Mars



Sagittarius, Pisces

5. Jupiter



Capricorn, Aquarius

6. Saturn



Jupiter is exalted in Cancer, the sign of the Moon and the head chakra. This shows the spiritual side of Jupiter and its function as the guru or guide, the teacher of the solar system. It is the point of maximum aspiration in life. Jupiter in the head center gives wisdom, peace and delight.

Mercury is exalted in Virgo, its own sign, and is the planetary ruler of the throat chakra. This is the place of speech. It is also our place of greatest vulnerability and shows how we take in and release things through the mouth. Mercury relating to the throat chakra gives intelligence,'speech and mantric powers.

The Moon is exalted in Taurus, a sign of Venus and the heart. The Moon's connection with the emotional heart is well known. This is the place of greatest receptivity and openness. The Moon in Taurus gives devotion, loyalty and care.

Saturn is exalted in Libra, the other sign of Venus and the heart chakra. Here Saturn represents the higher dharmic principles of justice, order and detachment, which are necessary in using our heart energy in the right way, providing detachment and principled idealism in human relationships.

The Sun is exalted in Aries, the sign of Mars and the navel center or solar plexus, well known as a site of solar and fire energy. The solar energy of the head must be integrated with the vital will in the belly. The Sun in Aries gives the power to align the ego or personal will (third chakra) to the inner Self or Atman.

Venus is exalted in Pisces, the sign of Jupiter, and the sex center. While Jupiter governs the general energy of creation and expansion, Venus reflects the more specific energy of love and reproduction. It is important that we align the Venus and Jupiter aspects of sexuality. In Vedic thought, Venus is the significator of the partner for the male, while Jupiter is the significator of the partner for the female. We need to keep our creative energy in harmony with love and idealism. Venus in Pisces gives a Divine love to transmute the energy of the sex or water chakra.

Mars is exalted in Capricorn, the sign of Saturn, and connects to the root center. As the end of the solar half of the zodiacal cycle, this is the point of maximum potential of expression of the fire energy. It is here on the most outer level of our being that we need energy to work and accomplish things. On an inner level, Mars in Capricorn in the root or earth center gives the awakening of the Kundalini to set the inner transformation process in motion.

In this system of planetary exaltations, the Sun and the Moon are located in the center, the navel and heart chakras, along with Saturn, the planet whose signs are opposite them in the zodiac. These are the central powers in the chart, representing the basic dualities of self and not-self or spirit and matter. Above them in the throat and head are Mercury and Jupiter, representing the mind in its abstract and concrete, general and specific function, also opposite each other in the zodiac in terms of signs. Below them in the sex and root centers are Venus and Mars, representing the emotional, vital and sensual nature, also opposite each other in terms of the zodiac. The two planets (the Sun and Moon considered as one planet), the Sun and Saturn are in the center.

The exaltation status centers on the heart and the solar plexus, two energy centers that function as seats of the individual self. The sign ruling status, on the other hand, is a vertically oriented symbolism reflecting the flow of prana from the lower to the higher chakras. The exaltation order reflects how the planets function once their energy is integrated within us. The solar energy from the head needs to be integrated into the vital energy in our navel or fire center (Aries). The martial energy of the navel center needs to be made concrete in action in the root center (Capricorn). The lunar receptive mind from the head needs to be integrated into the love energy in the heart (Taurus) . The Venus love energy in the heart needs to be integrated into the Jupiterian creative energy in the sex center. The Jupiter creative energy in the sex center needs to be brought to the top of the head. The Saturn detaching or negating energy in the root center needs to be brought up into the heart.

Finally, we should recognize that the actual opening of the chakras is a matter connected to the practice of the higher limbs of yoga. The chakras cannot be fully activated by the usage of gems, herbs or external influences, however helpful these may be for ordinary health purposes. The. yogic powers of the chakras are only unfolded by Pranayama, Mantra and Meditation. Such an inner experience of the chakras requires a concentrated spiritual practice (sadhana) grounded in inner peace and connected to an authentic guide and enlightenment tradition.33

Astro! ogical Treatment Measures

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Miracle of Therapeutic Touch

The Miracle of Therapeutic Touch

Learn This Rare Healing Technique Which Is Very Safe And Effective. This powerful tool will provide you with everything you need to know to be a success and achieve your goal of breaking into the mighty wellness arena. All the same the issue with getting hold of all that content is the huge expense. If you don't have time to compose all that content yourself, you're going to have to pay somebody to do it for you.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment