Under this heading will be grouped, Signs of Long Ascension, Signs of Short Ascension, Right Ascension and Oblique Ascension.

Signs of long ascension are: Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius.

Signs of short ascension are: Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus and Gemini.

They are so called because the signs of Long Ascension rise slowly in Northern latitudes, taking a much longer time than the two hours required if all the twelve signs rose at a uniform rate during the twenty-four hours. Leo takes about two hours and forty-five minutes in Lat. 40 North where New York is, and Pisces and Aries, two signs of Short Ascension, take only one hour and ten minutes. The reason lies in the obliquity of the Ecliptic, see page 49. The effect is that most people in the Northern Hemisphere are born under the signs of Long Ascension.

In the Southern Hemisphere the signs listed as of Short Ascension in the foregoing classification, are signs of Long Ascension, and most people are born under them, while the Northern signs of Long Ascension rise quickly in the South and relatively few are born under them. Thus the people of the opposite hemispheres are also opposite in their inner natures, and show different characteristics.

Right ascension and oblique ascension are not used in the system of Astrology generally in vogue, except in the calculation of the houses, with which the average student has no concern. Longitude is measured on the ecliptic or Sun's path from the first point of Aries, but Right Ascension is measured on the equinoctial or celestial equator.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Art Of Astrology

The Art Of Astrology

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success With Astrology. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To A Look at Principles and Practices.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment