Free Archetype Reading

Free Personalized Archetype Reading

Get Instant Access

Figure 8.1: Flinders Petrie drawing of the Upper Athribis zodiac.

zodiacs there is also another disc in Libra, with a bird inside. This one is not the Moon in the main horoscope but a symbol of the Paschal Full Moon. In subsection 5.9.1, we've already explained that this symbol represents the Moon reflecting the light of the Sun-bird. On the color fragment of the Lower Athribis zodiac (see Figure 3.9), the disc is red and the bird inside is yellow.

On the Upper zodiac, a crescent representing a half Moon is shown under Gemini. It is possible to recognize that this crescent was also accompanied by a disc (see Figure 8.1). Unfortunately, this fragment of the zodiac was partially damaged. Nevertheless, knowing Moon's representation on the Lower zodiac we can guess that a similar symbol was also used on the Upper zodiac. In this way we can conclude that on the Upper zodiac the Moon is shown in Gemini.

MERCURY: On the both Athribis zodiacs we can recognize a similar male figure with a planetary walking stick. There are no other figures holding walking sticks, except one figure in the partial horoscope area on the Upper zodiac. On the Upper zodiac, this male figure is located under Taurus, and on the Lower zodiac it is under Pisces. On the Lower zodiac, it is easy to recognize that this figure has two faces, but on the Upper zodiac this fragment was damaged and the head of that figure is missing. We are already familiar with such a male symbol with a planetary walking stick — it is Mercury in the main horoscope (see subsection 5.4.9). Consequently, Mercury on the Upper zodiac is shown in Taurus.

On the Lower zodiac, Mercury is most likely shown in Pisces. Let us remark that on that zodiac, Mercury is a part of a group of planetary symbols located under the constellations of Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Thus, it should not be excluded a possibility that the whole group was located somewhere among these constellations, so, in such a case, Mercury could be located in a different place than Pisces. Therefore, additional variants with Mercury in Capricorn and Pisces should also be considered. However, in this variant we will simply assume that Mercury was exactly in the constellation under which it is shown on the Lower zodiac, i.e. Mercury was in Pisces. Below, we

Figure 8.2: Flinders Petrie drawing of the Lower Athribis zodiac.

will also consider the variant with free distribution of these four planets in Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Now, we have to identify the four remaining planets of the main horoscope: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars and Venus. Notice, that on each of the Athribis zodiacs there are shown exactly four fantastic birds. Some of those birds have horns, snake-like tails, spread wings, etc. It is clear that these four birds represent the four remaining planets of the main horoscope. This fact was already known to Knobel and Morozov, so we are not making any new claim here. However, it turns out that the birds on the Upper and Lower zodiacs have similar features allowing us to establish one-to-one correspondence between them. There is only one way this correspondence can be made (see Figure 8.5).


(1) On the Upper Athribis zodiac, there is a bird shown under Pisces. Exactly the same bird, with horns in a shape of a crescent, is located on the Lower Athribis zodiac under Gemini. There are no other birds with this type of horns on the Athribis zodiacs. Except for the horns, these two birds do not possess any other special feature. Clearly, they have the same symbolic meaning, i.e. they symbolize the same planet on the Upper and Lower Athribis zodiacs. Since at this point we still do not know exactly what planet it could be, we will simply call it the planet #1.

(2) On the Upper zodiac, right above Cancer, there is a bird with horns pointing sharply up. These horns are also slightly curved at the top, in a similar way to the horns of an antelope, which are spirally twisted. One can find on the Lower zodiac, under Aquarius and Pisces, a bird with very similar horns. There are no other birds with this type of horns on the Athribis zodiacs. Since there are no other features associated with these birds, this is the only common characteristic,

Figure 8.3: Color Annotated Upper Athribis zodiac.

which allows us to identify them as symbols representing the same planet. We will call it planet #2.

(3) On the Upper zodiac, under Capricorn, there is a bird with a snake-like tail, folded wings, and a strong sharply pointed beak. A very similar bird is located on the Lower zodiac also under Capricorn. It has curved snake-like tail, folded wings and sharply pointed beak. Notice that there are no other birds with folded wings in the main area of the Athribis zodiacs. Notice that on the Lower zodiac there is a bird with a snake-like tail, but its wings are spread and the beak is curved. Therefore, it is definitely a different symbol,. On the other hand, the two birds, which are located on both zodiacs under Capricorn, have all similar characteristics and look exactly alike. Therefore, they represent the same planet. We will call it simply the planet #3.

(4) There is exactly one bird left on each of the Athribis zodiacs. On the Upper zodiac this bird is located under Taurus, next to the Sun, and on the Lower zodiac, it is under Leo. Since the bird figure on the Upper zodiac is extensively damaged, it is impossible to establish strong similarities between these two symbols. Only one spread wing and legs of the bird are clearly visible on the Upper zodiac. In this situation, we can identify only one common characteristic for these two birds — the spread wings. However, on the Lower zodiac, the bird under Leo was well preserved and all the details are visible. One can easily distinguish a snake-like tail and the beak also in a shape of a snake. Its wings are spread. Among all the birds on the two Athribis zodiac, there is no another bird that is similar to this one. In this way, this symbol can possibly correspond only to the partially destroyed bird under Taurus on the Upper zodiac. In addition, all their visible details can be matched, so these two symbols represent the same planet in the main horoscope on the Upper and Lower zodiacs. We will call it the planet #4.

No other fantastic birds with horns or snake-like tails are shown on the Athribis zodiacs. However, on each of these zodiacs there is a representation of one more "usual" bird — inside the discs over

Libra. These two birds are almost identical. As we've already explained it in subsection 5.9.1, these

Figure 8.4: Color Annotated Lower Athribis zodiac.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Illustrated Key To The Tarot

The Illustrated Key To The Tarot

The pathology of the poet says that the undevout astronomer is mad the pathology of the very plain man says that the genius is mad and between these extremes, which stand for ten thousand analogous excesses, the sovereign reason takes the part of a moderator and does what it can. I do not think that there is a pathology of the occult dedications, but about their extravagances no one can question, and it is not less difficult than thankless to act as a moderator regarding them.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment