The 27 Lunar Constellations Nakshatras


12. Uttara Phalguni 26 40 Leo------10 00 Virgo Sun

14. Chitra 23 20 Virgo----06 40 Libra Mars

25. Purvabhadra 20 00 Aqua.----03 20 Pis. Jupiter

This is the cycle of the 27 lunar constellations, which, as we see, is quite different than that of the 12 signs. They are used more for marking the qualities of the Moon, whereas the signs relate more to the Sun. However, both signs and constellations can be used to read the properties of all the planets. A planet benefits by being in its own lunar constellation.

Each constellation marks an area of the zodiac of 13 degrees and 20 minutes. They come in three groups of nine: Ashwini to Ashlesha rule the first third of the zodiac, Magha to Jyestha the second third and Mula to Revati the last. Vedic astrologers now consider that the vernal equinox is in Uttarabhadra. Previous records in Vedic texts show it to have previously been in Ashwini,

Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigashira, Punarvasu and perhaps yet further back, as it moves backwards through the zodiac in the precessional cycle. A twenty-eighth lunar constellation is sometimes marked, called "Abhijit", placed between Shravana and Dhanishta (constellations 22 and 23).

The main usage of the lunar constellations is for determining the planetary periods. They are also used, like the Sun signs in western astrology, for determining personality types. They are used in marriage compatibility readings and in horary and electional astrology to determine favorable times for action.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Meditation Mastery

Meditation Mastery

Discover How Breath Watching Meditation Turned My Mind From Cluttered To Laser Focus. You Can Get More Things Done When You’re Focus And Aware Of Your Mind.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment