Major Planetary Aspects full aspect

Astro Elements

The Art Of Astrology

Get Instant Access

Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus 7th Mars 4th 7th 8th Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu 5th 7th 9th Saturn 3rd 7th 10th

The primary rule is that all planets aspect the seventh sign from the sign in which they are located. This is similar to the opposition or 180 degree aspect in Western astrology.

Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, the distant planets, and Rahu and Ketu, the lunar nodes, possess special aspects.

Mars, in addition to the regular seventh aspect, aspects the fourth and the eighth signs. The fourth aspect is similar to a square or 90 degree aspect in Western astrology of an approaching nature. The eighth aspect is like a quincunx or 150 degree aspect in Western astrology, but it only throws this aspect on planets behind it in the zodiac; so the real angle is 210 degrees. Jupiter, Rahu and Ketu, have special aspects on the fifth and the ninth. These are the same as trines, 120 degree aspects in Western astrology, operating both forwards and backwards in the zodiac.

Saturn has special aspects for the third and the tenth. Its aspect on the third is like a sextile or 60 degree aspect in Western astrology but only operates on planets in front of it in the zodiac. Its tenth aspect is a square or 90 degree aspect, but operates only backwards; hence its angle is really 270 degrees. For most purposes in Vedic astrology only their full aspects are used. Some Vedic astrologers consider that a full aspect occurs from a planet located tenth from another. This is worthy of consideration. Planets in the tenth house have a full aspect on the Ascendant by this view.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Art Of Astrology

The Art Of Astrology

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success With Astrology. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To A Look at Principles and Practices.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment