Laws Of House Rulership

Planets are classified as temporal or temporary malefics or benefics according to the houses they rule relative to the Ascendant. Generally speaking, those which rule benefic houses become benefics; those which rule malefic houses, become malefics. In this way, a naturally benefic planet like Jupiter may become functionally malefic in a chart should it not rule any benefic houses.

Lords of trine houses, 1, 5 and 9 are considered to be always auspicious. Lords of quadrant houses, 4, 7 and 10 are regarded auspicious if natural malefics, like Mars and Saturn (and by some accounts the Sun). Yet they are deemed inauspicious if natural benefics, like Jupiter, Mercury, Venus (and by some accounts the Moon).

In other words, rulership of quadrant houses reverses the normal benefic or malefic status of planets. Rulership of trines, on the other hand, only enhances the nature of planets, makes them more benefic.

Lords of malefic houses 3, 6 and 11 are generally inauspicious, as these are houses of egoism, power, impulse, violence and disease. Lords of malefic houses 2, 8 and 12 are generally malefic but functionally neutral. Their nature depends upon what other houses their planet rules. Of these the stain of rulership of house 8 is greater than that of house 12 or 2.

Therefore, while it is more dangerous for planets to be in difficult houses like 6, 8 and 12, the lords of houses 3, 6 and 11 project a more negative force in the chart than the lords of these more difficult houses.

The reasons for this system are complicated but it is based upon principles of sign rulership.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Art Of Astrology

The Art Of Astrology

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success With Astrology. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To A Look at Principles and Practices.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment