The Symbolic Parable

According to legend, the order of the 12 signs of Chinese astrology was determined by Buddha. Upon celebration of the Chinese New Year (which falls on different dates, from mid-January to mid-February), all of the animals in the kingdom were invited, but only 12 creatures attended.

The first animal to arrive was the intellectual, talkative Rat, who was aggressive enough to jump off the back of the Ox, and thus the first to arrive.

The next to come was the hardworking Ox, followed by the active Tiger, and the detached Rabbit (or Cat). The outspoken Dragon joined the others, as did the wise and philosophical Snake. The physically active Horse trotted in with his good friend the artistic Goat.

The irrepressible Monkey and the candid Rooster arrived as well. The last to join the others were the watchful Dog and the resigned Pig.

The legend continues that each animal acquired a year of its own, bestowing their symbolic nature and characteristics to those born in that animal's year. It is the untamed force concealed within you— your inner self from the beginning.

The Art Of Astrology

The Art Of Astrology

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success With Astrology. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To A Look at Principles and Practices.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment