Our Calendar Is Based on Astrology

You probably didn't know that all common calendar cycles are reflected by the movement in the heavens— and in astrology. A month, for example, is roughly the amount of time between New Moons (about 29 days). And, coincidentally, a month is approximately the amount of time it takes for the Sun to move to a new sign in the zodiac.


Planets are the "what" of astrology. They represent the various energies of a person, including mental and emotional nature, desires, vitality, soul, will, consciousness, and subconscious, as well as the people in a person's life. Throughout, we'll include the Sun, Moon, and the North and South Nodes, even though they aren't actually planets.

The zodiac is the name of the elliptic pattern the Earth follows in its annual revolution around the Sun. This path is always the same, and always passes through the same 12 signs.

The signs of the zodiac are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. All zodiac signs appear in every person's chart. The needs and styles of the planets are shown by the signs, as well as what methods could be used to achieve those needs and styles.

The houses are the "where" of astrology. Each of the 12 houses encompasses a specific arena of life and is the stage where the drama of the planets unfolds.

A year is the amount of time the ancients thought it took for the Sun to travel through the entire zodiac (from the perspective of Earth), but today we know it's the time it takes the earth to travel around the Sun. (Still, pretty smart for a bunch of guys without computers!)

These same smart guys noticed that the Sun was moving through certain constellations at certain times of the year. Each constellation had a specific meaning for the ancients, a meaning reflected when the 12 zodiac signs were named.


Your birth chart is a unique map of who you are. Using the date, time, and place of your birth, it shows the positions of the planets in the signs and houses. The odds of anyone else having the same birth chart as you are astronomically small!


A week, as you know, has seven days, but you may not have known that's because that's how many planets could be seen by the ancients. In fact, the days of the week are named after the first seven planets (or rather, the first seven discovered celestial bodies, not including Earth):

Sunday Sun

Monday Moon

Tuesday (mardi in French) Mars Wednesday (mercredi in French) Mercury

Thursday (jeudi in French) Jupiter

Friday (vendredi in French) Venus

Saturday Saturn

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Art Of Astrology

The Art Of Astrology

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success With Astrology. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To A Look at Principles and Practices.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment